Unique findings on the territory of Uzhgorod castle are reality (PHOTOFACT)
Every year in June, students of the Faculty of History and International Relations of Uzhgorod National University take an archaeological practice. This year, they are excavating the ruins of the Church of St. George, which is located on the territory of the Uzhgorod castle.
The temple was erected in the thirteenth century. In 1728, there was a fire that destroyed a large part of it. After that, the church has not been rebuilt. On June 13, students of the Uzhgorod Trade and Economic College of the KNTEU joined the interns as volunteers.
Since the research is at the initial stage, the volunteers helped to clear the layer of the 18th century ruins: they dismantled the remains of walls, andesite stone and brick rubbles, etc. In the presence of students, they found a church bronze medallion of the 18th century with the image of the Virgin Mary on one side and Christ on the other.
Archaeological research on the territory of Uzhgorod castle: the results of the first week (PHOTOFACT)
17 June 2019 19:54